Skip to content

Digital Citizenship

Digital citizenship can be defined as the norms of appropriate, responsible behavior with regard to technology use. According to, the nine elements of digital citizenship are:

  1. Digital Access: full electronic participation in society.
  2. Digital Commerce: electronic buying and selling of goods.
  3. Digital Communication: electronic exchange of information.
  4. Digital Literacy: process of teaching and learning about technology and the use of technology.
  5. Digital Etiquette: electronic standards of conduct or procedure.
  6. Digital Law: electronic responsibility for actions and deeds
  7. Digital Rights & Responsibilities: those freedoms extended to everyone in a digital world.
  8. Digital Health & Wellness: physical and psychological well-being in a digital technology world.
  9. Digital Security (self-protection): electronic precautions to guarantee safety.

B-P’s Digital Citizenship Vision

Common Sense Media logoIn a global, digital society, we believe it is important to strive to use technology respectfully, responsibly, and safely. It is the vision of the Broadalbin-Perth Central School District to support students, families, and all district staff in developing a positive digital footprint and a comprehensive set of digital citizenship characteristics. We will enable each stakeholder to be a responsible, productive, and beneficial user of digital technologies and media. We will achieve this vision by using educational materials provided by Common Sense Education.

Common Sense Education logo2016-17 Goals

  • TLC, BPIS, and BPMS will earn their Digital Citizenship School Certifications.
  • Four teachers will become certified digital citizenship educators.
  • BPHS and District Project Lead will write a plan for the school to become certified during the 2017-18 school year.
  • Broadalbin-Perth will receive its Digital Citizenship District Certification.