Budget and School Taxes

The annual school board election and budget vote will be held on Tuesday, May 21. Voting will be held from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the middle school and high school gymnasiums.

2018-19 Budget

  • Total Budget: $36,647,500

Budget invests in student mental health, school supplies

The budget includes $75,000 in salary and benefits for a full-time mental health counselor, who will be able to work directly with children who could benefit from therapy in the school setting.

The budget also includes an additional $20,000 that the district will use to purchase school supplies currently provided by parents, reducing the length of school supply lists at every grade level. Broadalbin-Perth will further help parents with their annual school supply purchases by offering a service through which the district will purchase supplies at bulk prices and allow parents to purchase their children’s supplies directly from Broadalbin-Perth at the reduced price. Tomlinson estimates that, through both initiatives, parents will save, on average, $50-$75 per child on school supplies for the 2018-19 school year.

District reduces interest payments, spreads out tax increase related to capital project

The budget includes $775,000 in new debt service to begin paying for the $39.7 million capital project residents approved in May 2016. This represents a change from the district’s original plan to complete the entire project before beginning to repay incurred debt.

According to the district’s architect, CSArch, and municipal financial advisor, Bernard P. Donegan, Inc., financing the project this way was not an option before residents voted on it in May 2016. Rather, this financing option became available after the district decided to complete capital project work in phases — a move that will reduce the amount of interest the district will pay and likely lower the taxpayers’ share of the project.

For taxpayers, this means there will no longer be a one-time average tax increase of $55 on a home valued at $100,000 with Basic STAR. Instead, the tax increase associated with the capital project will be phased in over several years. In the end, however, district officials said they are committed to the total average tax increase for the capital project being no more than the $55 per $100,000 of market value that was promised at the time of the vote. In fact, by taking this approach to financing the capital project, the district’s financial advisor has estimated that it is likely that the taxpayer share will end up being less than the average $55 per $100,000 of market value.

Board raises income limits for senior citizen tax exemption

In February, the board of education approved a resolution to increase the income limits for the senior citizens tax exemption for residents age 65 and older. The move exempts a portion of a senior homeowner’s tax bill based on income. Senior citizens must apply annually for this exemption through their town assessor’s office.

About the B-P Budget

  • More than 51 percent of the district’s revenues come from state and federal aid, while 42 percent of revenue comes from local property taxes.
  • About 59 percent of spending is on classroom instruction with another 7 percent going to instructional support. About 22 percent of the budget is spent on district operations, including building maintenance, utilities and business office functions.

School Tax Rates & Bills


School property tax rates are set in August for the upcoming school year. Tax rates are based on the total tax levy in the voter-approved school budget, the state-determined equalization rates, and assessment rolls for each town.

School tax rates for the 2018-19 school year, per $1,000 of assessed value, are:

  • Amsterdam — $195.408
  • Broadalbin — $20.682
  • Edinburg — $33.679
  • Galway — $32.410
  • Johnstown — $25.636
  • Mayfield — $25.260
  • Northampton — $26.425
  • Perth — $33.146
  • Providence — $18.273

Paying School Taxes

Due Dates

School property taxes are due Oct. 31 each year. School taxes will be collected without penalty from Sept. 4 through Oct. 4. A penalty of 2% will be added to payments received from Oct. 5 through Oct. 31. No payments are accepted after Oct. 31. Any amounts unpaid at that time will be turned over to the appropriate county.

Payment Methods

In an effort to reduce costs, Broadalbin-Perth strongly encourages taxpayers to send their payment by mail if they are paying by check.


Payments that are mailed must be postmarked no later than Oct. 31. Checks should be made payable to Broadalbin-Perth School Tax Collector.

Send your check or money order to:

Tax Processing Unit
Broadalbin-Perth Central School District
PO Box 14225
Albany, NY 12212-4225


Taxes can be paid by credit/debit card (2-day processing).

Residents whose school tax bills are paid via escrow accounts should not use this service as the amount due will be deducted from their escrow accounts during the month of September, as in years past.

Residents who choose to use the online bill pay service should note that the company that provides the service charges a one-time transaction fee of $0.50 plus 3 percent of the bill total for credit or debit card payments (minimum $2 fee).

Pay your school tax bill online here. Property owners can search for their accounts by last name, street address, bill number or SBL (section, block, lot) number.


Property owners can contact the school tax collector Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. at (518) 954-2505.

Questions about assessments, exemptions or address changes should be directed to local assessors:

  • Amsterdam — (518) 842-7961
  • Broadalbin — (518) 883-8628
  • Edinburg — (518) 863-2034
  • Galway — (518) 882-6070
  • Johnstown — (518) 762-6804
  • Mayfield — (518) 661-5414
  • Northampton — (518) 863-4875
  • Perth — (518) 843-6977
  • Providence — (518) 882-6541

For information about STAR exemptions, visit the STAR website or call (518) 457-2036.