B-P Hosts First Alpine Ski Race

The Broadalbin-Perth Alpine Ski team hosted its first-ever alpine race – and the first race of the season for Section II – on Dec. 29 at Oak Mountain in Speculator.


The Holiday race featured two separate slalom runs, with five schools competing, including B-P, Johnstown, Saratoga, Shenendehowa and CBA. This winter marks the third season for the race team, which was started three years ago by Matt O’Brien, owner of the team’s home facility, Oak Mountain.  Shawn Cotter takes the reins as head coach for his second season.

B-P’s alpine ski team welcomed nine new racers this session, and includes 19 members and 17 racers from grades 7-12. The team began its season with “dry” practice, focusing on cardio and core workouts. Now, members travel an hour each way to Oak Mountain four days a week, with optional Saturday practice. 

Members of the B-P alpine ski team pose at the top of Oak Mountain, in between races.
Members of the B-P alpine ski team pose at the top of Oak Mountain, in between races.

The team’s hard work paid off, as B-P placed in the top three for three of the four races. 

The results were as follows: 

RUN 1 (Girls): 1: Michaela Leonard (Shen), 28.62; 2: Hannah Nolett (B-P), 29.00; 3: Sarah MacFarane (Shen), 30.53; 4: Petra Coyne (Johnstown), 31.09); 5: Cole Krempa (Johnstown), 31.14.

B-P's Hannah Nolett
B-P’s Hannah Nolett

RUN 1 (Boys): 1: Colin Cotter (B-P), 23.73; 2: Braden Kruk (Shen), 24.04; 3: Cole Paton (CBA), 26.28; 4: Ben Krempa (Johnstown), 26.43; 5: Jake Hannah (Johnstown), 28.67.

B-P's Colin Cotter
B-P’s Colin Cotter

RUN 2 (Girls): 1: Michaela Leanard (Shen), 27.61; 2: Robin Krugel (Johnstown), 28.46; 3: Hannah Nolett (B-P)28.70; 4:  Lucy Daly (Saratoga), 30.07; 5: Danielle Paton (Shen), 31.01.

RUN 2 (Boys): 1: Braden Kruk (Shen), 23.49; 2:  Cole Paton (CBA), 24.68; 3: Ben Krempa (Johnstown), 26.26; 4: Carter Cheney (Johnstown), 27.28; 5: Jake Hannah (Johnstown), 28.33.

Other local competitors at the race included:

  • B-P – Haley Tomlinson, Emma Waterman, Jillian Sanford, Alli Wakefield, Allie Georgeolos, Alix Shrome, Brady Cotter, Jack Samek, Tyler Osterhout, Nico Georgeolos, Jake Morin, Riley Fenton and Alex Teresco.
  • Johnstown – Noah Stock and Jack Miller.

Upcoming Section II races take place Jan. 12 at West Mountain in Queensbury and Feb. 5 at Royal Mountain in Johnstown. Good luck team, and stay warm!


For more information on the team and Alpine Skiing check out: https://www.bpcsd.org/b-ps-alpine-ski-team-kicks-off-second-season-with-new-covid-19-safety-rules-in-place-and-a-new-head-coach-shawn-cotter/